All Topics / Help Needed! / Is Vendors Finance investing viable on intrest only loans?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of Chickenhawk6451Chickenhawk6451
    Participant
    @chickenhawk6451

Hiya Folks,

My name is Alex, I'm new to the world of investing and am currently in the "read everything you can" stage. As a little back-ground, I just graduated university and intend on working as an engineer for the next 10 or so years but I have no desires to work for the rest of my life! To this end, I am looking to secure my long long term future, I've begun by saving money and would like to ramp up the passive side of investment. At the only moment my only asset is my car and the clothes on my back so I realise it is a few years away before I start, but theres no reason not to build knowledge :-)

One thing that piqued my concentration after reading Steve's book was the concept of Vendor Financing. For someone in my position I consider this to be an attractive option as other options such as renting out properties have a lower rate of return for the same outlay from the calculations I have performed.

The only thing I cannot twist my mind around is the concept of an interest-only loan being on-sold at a profit. For example, lets say that I buy a property for $100,000 and interest only payments are $7,000/yr. If I then sell on vendors financing for $120,000 I am running at ~$2,400 profit per year. I'm all ok with this but the next part confuses me;

At the end of the Interest Only loan, I would be required to pay the original $100,000 loan amount. Lets say the loan runs for 5 years, I have received ~$12,000 (5 x $2,400) and then the purchaser pays a lump sum of $108,000? ($120,000 – $12,000) at which point I pay off the original loan and the new loan is now with a bank (assuming the purchaser re-finances). Is this correct?