All Topics / Overseas Deals / Vacant Property Security – Tired of Break In’s ?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of VideoInspectorsVideoInspectors
    @videoinspectors

A vacant property in Detroit won't make it through the night without being broken into and stripped of the furnace, water tank, copper, electrical wiring and anything else of value.

I work as a rehab project manager for investors and property managers and I have had boarded up homes broken into more times than I can count. Honestly its almost a waste of money to board them up in the first place. Not to mention that every time you do a board up your buying new materials, it really starts to add up$$$

<moderator: delete advertising>

David

Profile photo of M.InvestigatorM.Investigator
    @m.investigator

I think another way to avoid break-ins for your property investments, it helps to try and prevent it from happening in the first place. For example, when researching properties, aim to invest in areas that are safe, and have a low history of break ins and crime. To check up local criminal activity, you can typically get free reports from the different levels of government, and also even the local police can give you some ideas about the levels of crime.

Also, it helps to have insurance. This helps to minimise your risks as well just in case of any theft or damage to your property.

I agree though that adding security systems can also improve your property's security.

Profile photo of DubstepDubstep
    Participant
    @dubstep

Mate,

Seriously ?

On the opposite end of the spectrum – our neighbours have not locked there house for 8 years and dont know where the keys are !

Profile photo of DubstepDubstep
    Participant
    @dubstep

The last post was in response to David's post, not Matthew's.

Cheers.

Profile photo of worldinvestorworldinvestor
    Participant
    @worldinvestor

This is Detroit we are talking about…