All Topics / Help Needed! / Feedback/Advice Please?!

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of Muz1983Muz1983
    @muz1983

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the investment game and even newer to this site.  I have a few queries that I would love some feedback/advice on.  If anyone could help it really would be greatly appreciated…

A bit of background first…

1/  I am 28 years old.  I built a house about 2 years ago in Mildura, Vic. to get full use of the $36.5k First Home Buyers Grant.  I used $22k (10%) as the deposit, and the rest for fitting the house out with furniture etc.

I estimate the value of the house to be around $235k now (probably more, just being conservative).  This gives me around $35k in equity.

2/ My ‘soon to be’ Wife also had her own House near Mildura when we met.  She earns a lot more money than I do and has been able to make a lot of extra payments into her house since buying it.  Her house would be valued around $225K (conservative again), but only owes about $140k giving her around $85k in equity.

We both now live in my house and we rent hers out for $250 p/w.  I know that this was probably the wrong way to do things (should have moved into hers and rented mine), but mine was unfinished and not suitable for renting.

Both of our houses are quite small and not suitable for family life.  We would like to start building a family home within the next 12-18 months before kids come along (I am a tradesman who will do about 75% of the work myself, but am currently a department manager at a well known Hardware store, so all materials needed to build will be basically cost price).

We are very keen to get into the investment market to try to supplement some income while she will be off work with Children (potentially 8-10 years).

Also to be able to build our property Portfolio, be financially free and retired from work around 45-50 would be an absolutely amazing outcome.

My questions are: