All Topics / Value Adding / carpet change canincrease rent yield ? help

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Profile photo of blessingzblessingz
    Participant
    @blessingz

Hi, i am new to investing. We are just going to buy our first IP. it’s a unit. good for older couple due to no stairs, close to CBD etc. However, we are thinking of changing the old, patterned brown carpet in the house, hoping to get better rent yield, what do you think? the rooms also has older style build ins, with timber-like brown colour. i am also thinking of get the wardrobe door change to mirrors instead to increase the brightness of the room, and make it look more spacious as well. Do you think it’s costly and worth doing?
    any feedbacks are welcomed.
    cheers,

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

New flooring can make a difference to both the yield and value.

I'd opt for something sturdy like floating floorboards over carpet – less wear and tear in my opinion. Also quite easy to lay yourself if you can be bothered.

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of CatalystCatalyst
    Participant
    @catalyst

Yes change the carpet and maybe paint to freshen it up if needed. Mirror wardrobe doors are expensive so only do if really needed. Can you sand and then paint the doors?

You have to work out the cost and then decide whether it will give you extra CG and/or rent.

A tidy fresh place will attract a better tenant also. Look at it from a tenants eyes. Would you want to live with the old carpet?

Profile photo of blessingzblessingz
    Participant
    @blessingz

Thanks for the feedback. the two bedroom unit is about 150K if they accept my offer. and it can attract probably 180 dollars a week, i reckon..or more if i change the floor. so, it’s about 6.24%. is this good enough?