All Topics / General Property / Depreciation Schedules

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of rc388rc388
    @rc388

Hi

I have three questions in which Im hoping members and readers can help me with:

1. I value the importance of getting a qualified surveyor to prepare a depreciation schedule for my IP (apartment); what I would like to ask for opinions is whether a report which costs A$700+ is any better than a $500+ when all are supposedly qualified surveyors and members of the institute?  As Im a new investor, Im no expert when it comes to comparing the reports as they all look comprehensive but the 2 key justification points for the higher priced reports is that competitors may leave out items/not categorise correctly and surveyors are supposedly outsourced/data collectors?  How can this be proven?

2. What is the relevance of original purchase price when a depreciation schedule is prepared? I would have thought a surveyor would provide estimates and depreciation would be worked out from that?  

3. Is there any value in getting a market valuation for the IP  (previously PPOR of 9 years) before selling the property;  perhaps Im missing something here but I would have thought that when I sell the property, the CGT would be applicable on the proportion of time held as IP (from original price) so dont necessarily understand the relevance of a current market valuation?

Any thoughts and opinions are warmly welcomed. Many thanks as always

Cheers RC388 

Profile photo of CatalystCatalyst
    Participant
    @catalyst

1) Go with recommendations.    I recommend http://www.depreciator.com.au     Used many times. Competitive price, great service.

2) For building depreciation I'm guessing

3)CGT is worked out on buy costs/sell costs (not market value) so can't see the point. It may have been worthwhile getting one when it changed from a PPOR to an IP though..

Profile photo of AnthonyBAnthonyB
    Participant
    @anthonyb

Hi RC388,