All Topics / Help Needed! / Thinking of purchasing off the plan apartment, need advice!

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of JayDee26JayDee26
    @jaydee26

Hi!

I have a few questions as I am new to property investing in regards to purchasing apartments off the plan. First a little rundown of the situation:

It is a yet to be built apartment complex with secure underground parking etc and will have about 50 apartments in one compound and wont be ready until early next year. I've been to the site and construction has not started yet however some digging has commenced.

Essentially I am thinking of a 3 bedroom apartment however when I enquired with one agent, this agent tells me that certain apartments that I am interested in have been taken (via a holding deposit by other investors) whereas if I enquire with another agent, this one says that she thinks they are available. I did a search on the developer and it looks like the developer might be a foreign company however I did see some 'pictures' of their previous work which the first agent has showed me.

The apartment complex is a mix of 2br and 3br apartments with 2br taking the majority of the number of apartments. The agent told me that most of the 2br apartments have not yet been sold and that the 3br are in high demand. Construction is expected to occur in March.

Now the questions:
    1) The strata to this place is $1600 / annual, along with the council rates of $800 and water being $460 per annum. The rental estimate according to the agents is between $350-$380 per week. Is a strata of this high amount normal for a apartment complex in suburbia?