All Topics / Finance / Getting finance for a first investment property

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of VictoriaCVictoriaC
    @victoriac

Hi all,
    Im a newbie to the site and seeking some advise. My husband and I would like to start building a cash positive poperty folio and eventually renovate and sell houses. My issue is finance….my heads in a bit of a jumble over this!

We own a home worth apprx $950K to $1mil. We have a joint mortgage of $550K but we have $540K cash in the bank due to the recent sale of my business (in our offset account).

Therefore we have access to cash and equity but my issue is that we are on low incomes, $130K gross combined (me $65K, husband $55K). Not so bad combined but l plan to stop working in about 12 mths to have another child.

So with an income of $55K what is the best strategy to be able to borrow as much money as possible in my husbands name (as director of company ATF family trust) and start investing?

I was thinking that in order to wipe all debts from my husbands name (ie. his share of the mortgage) and allow him to borrow again we probably have to pay off the mortgage with the offset money but then we have no cash for deposits and closing costs.
    My other idea was to sell the house and rent (interest on $1mil would pay our rent), but it would be a shame as our house is going up in value – does anyone have any advise, would selling our home be the best way?

Am I niave thinking $55K incme will be able to borrow – doesnt the rental money from the investment property get taken into account when evaluating servicability?

Am I missing anything??

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Hi Victoria,

Not a broker and would strongly recommend you find a good one.