All Topics / Help Needed! / property investment property and extra repayments

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of Paul GuevarraPaul Guevarra
    @paul-guevarra

Hi,

I'm new to this and don't really know my options. I'm 28 years old and just have bought my first investment property, I have a mortgage on it for about $240, 000. I've lived in it for 6 months so i could get the first home owners grant and now i'm looking to rent it out. My minimum monthly repayments are $1500 but since i've been living there i've made extra repayments of $2500 so $4000 a month all up. Now that im moving out and renting the place for about $1000 a month can i still make extra repayments without affecting by tax benefits? last financial year i earned about $100, 000 and paid alot of tax, so i bought an investment property to off set it.

Profile photo of CatalystCatalyst
    Participant
    @catalyst

So you bought a property that will lose money so you don't have to pay so much tax? I know lots of people do it. It's called negative gearing but it's not for me. I like making money.

The more you pay off the less tax you claim as a tax offset, but the more you pay off the less interest you pay.

I'm hoping you are paying the extra money into an offset account and not directly off the loan. By having the offset account the extra money you pay is yours to withdraw as you see fit. Down the track you may want that money to buy another IP or even a home to live in. You can take the money from the offset without losing tax deductions. If you pull it out of the loan to by a home you lose the tax deductions.

Profile photo of coalstarcoalstar
    Participant
    @coalstar
    Catalyst wrote:
    So you bought a property that will lose money so you don't have to pay so much tax? I know lots of people do it. It's called negative gearing but it's not for me. I like making money.