All Topics / Help Needed! / Deriving Income From Property – Reality check!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of dhodgson7dhodgson7
    @dhodgson7

Hi folks,

I hope you guys can help me out.

I currently earn around $200K working as an IP Communications engineer (self taught), nothing property related at all, my wife doesn't work and we have two small children under 5 and live in WA.

I want to derive my main income from property. I want to be my own boss and manage the risks myself, I have a passion for property and you know the saying "if you love what you do then it's not work". For these reasons I want to get into Property Development. Nothing specific at the moment I'm fairly open to all stratagies and development paths. I was planning to learn and educate myself over the next 12 months prior to getting into the 'game'.

I was then hoping to use income created from property developments and use this to fund long term IP's to secure our future and the future of our children.

Is anyone doing this and earning $200K and up? Can this be a reality or am I dreaming?

thanks
    Dave

Profile photo of Mick CMick C
    Participant
    @shape

Im on $140k gross – but this is BEFORE expenses…after expense it’s more like 30k net passive – and this took a good 7 years to build up + no-development (yet) just rental but all in safe residential property ( all within Sydney metro – all within 1-25 km of CBD) – But my strategy is not rental yield; it’s more capital growth hence the location and high expense.

Can 200k passive be achieved- absolutely! i have plenty of clients who are well above this 200k mark. It depends on your strategy and where our comfort level lies…

Since your in WA, if your willing to take the risk you could achieve a must higher figure sooner; it just depends on your risk tolerant…and do note you have a large family + solo income – so some sort of life,income insurance and protection is highly advised!