All Topics / Help Needed! / Water Damage – Suspect Tennant Fault

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of dsndsn
    @dsn

Hi All

I am looking for some advice – not sure what direction to take as I'm still fairly new to IPs.

One of my units has been flooded quite extensively and I suspect this at the fault of the tenant but I cannot prove so.

The agent called the plumber to check for leaks and pressured tested pipes and there was no issue (this took 3 days to perform/monitor). A carpet cleaner was called in to extract water out of the carpet, dry it and steam clean it. The cost of this damage is 5 weeks rent ($1,400). No structural damage was caused other than leaks through the adjoining unit wall which has dried.

Also to note, the tennant did not report the problem – the adjoining unit did. From my inspection with my father (who is a tradesman), we suspect the tennant left the washing machine outlet out of the sink.

What would you do?

1. The agent has suggested claiming insurance but I’m not sure if it’s worth it (worried about my permiums going up)
    2. Claim insurance, get the tennant to pay the excess.
    3. Confront the tennant with the bills
    4. Just absorb the cost?

Profile photo of aussieguy2000aussieguy2000
    Participant
    @aussieguy2000