All Topics / Help Needed! / Why SHOULDNT I buy a +Cashflow property???

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of mattyd2291mattyd2291
    @mattyd2291

Hey Guys,

I'm 19 years old and am looking to start my investment portfolio. I have recently discovered a +Cashflow property in Mildura. Its a cheap place that rents for $180 and the loan repayments would be $111. It is currently being leased out for the enxt year. The property has obviously been flooded hence why its so cheap but appears to be in good condition and you could definately live in it.

MY QUESTION TO YOU GUYS IS:

1. Should I purchase this property?
    2. does a +cashflow outway the risk of other reasons to NOT buy.

HMB guys, gladly appreciate all the advice I can get.

Matt

Profile photo of landt64landt64
    Participant
    @landt64

Hi Matt,
    congratulations on wanting to get into the market so early, I hope my kids will be the same at your age.
    I’m no expert but I’d be checking a few things out about this property.
    1. Do you know what your holding costs are for the property i.e Council rates, water bills, Landlords insurance – All of these things could add up to make your property not cash flow positive.
    2. Are you sure you can get a loan on a property that has already been flooded, the bank may not be so keen?
    3. What if it floods again – are you in a flood prone area?
    4. The insurance costs will probably be very high due to the fact that it’s already flooded.
    5. Have you checked out the structure of the house due to the fact it has been flooded? Again I’m no expert but I’d be worried about structural damage and costly water damage.

I hope this is all useful for you.
    Trish

Profile photo of Mick CMick C
    Participant
    @shape