All Topics / Help Needed! / Pro’s and Cons of living in a house you rent?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of beaubeau
    Participant
    @beau

Hi all,

I am new to the whole property market with about 55K in a combo of cash and stocks currently. I am moving to Brisbane next year to start uni. After reading API magazine for a year and Steve's books the dream is to buy a place in Brisbane where the house can be rented out to uni students and the bottom can be converted into a apartment where I can live. The aim hopefully is that if I buy well, renting out the top portion should cover most costs allowing me to live rent free. My goal is one house a year after that first purchase which should be attainable with my aggressive saving regime. If this is a bad idea and advice points me in another direction I'm happy to find a positive cash-flow property and rent elsewhere. So far I have only experienced stocks and I am sick of the market where as the property market seems to be perfect for buyers!
    Can some people who are have had far more experience comment on what they think of this idea?
    Does this create an accounting nightmare with deductions and principle place of residence capital gains exemptions at a later date?

Cheers

Profile photo of Mick CMick C
    Participant
    @shape

Renting a house to uni students:

Pro:
    1. High rental return ( room by room)

Con:
    1. Damage to the home is likely
    2. Not a lot of agent will take this up, you will have to self-manage
    3. Tenants issues – Theft, dirty, don’t get along, noise
    4. Insurance won’t insure
    5. Can not declare to the bank in term of serviceability/ affordability
    6. There have been a decreases in the number of student migrating to Aus in the past 2 years – high currency exchange and change in citizen/resident laws ( demand still there, but rent gone from $200 per room to $150…)
    7. Short term rental – high vacancy during x-mas.