Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of mikeunwiredmikeunwired
    @mikeunwired

hi there

Im somewhat new to investing and live in the north coast NSW. i have a deposit and eligible for fhog. There isnt much around where i live, much of which is overpriced and the best deals i have seen is in Grafton South, one in particular a property i could buy, make slight renoations to and make a 7-9% yield on the rental return. There seems to be alot of opportunity in this town for good rental return and the the capital gain average has been 14% for the last 10 years, not great but better than nothing.

The reason why im posting here is that im getting alot of stick about grafton more so from my family who think i should forget about the fhog, purchase up near brisbane (3 hours away)and negative gear for capital gains. It seems to me that the way to build wealth and get out of my job would be to secure positive cashflow property so i could build a portfolio? i understand that its a low socioeconomic area but wouldnt it be better to have a hundred a week in your hand in cash and have the banks continue to lend to you rather than have half your salary eaten up by a mortgage and prayers for capital gains?

Thankyou for any advice

Profile photo of Ryan McLeanRyan McLean
    Participant
    @ryan-mclean

The cheapest commodity in the world is advice. It is freely available from everyone. But the most expensive advice is the advice you get for free from your friends and family.

Firstly, ask yourself if they are extremely successful investors. If their not then you can quickly disregard what they are saying. They are advising you out of fear of the unknown not out of a true investment education.

YES! I do believe it is better to have $100/week paid to me instead of $100/week that I have to pay. Even if the area is more rural. Just make sure you get good insurance and a good rental manager.