All Topics / General Property / investing in smaller towns near Gladstone

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of Tom017Tom017
    @tom017

Hi all,

Has anyone looked at investing in towns close to Gladstone such as Calliope or tannum sands etc? The purchase costs are less here and the rent returns are good. But these will be the first to go if things quiet down up there. Just thought someone may have done a bit of research into these areas. Any feedback would be great – Thanks

Thommo

Profile photo of Josh AthertonJosh Atherton
    @josh-atherton

Hi Thommo,

youre correct, they will be the first to go. Question is, will this area ever be quite again due to mining?

I have a lot of knowledge in CQ as I have a lot of investments there and have lived in Emerald for a number of years previously.

If you follow my Blog (address below) I will be travelling and extensivelly researching all of these areas and assessing them for investment. If you have any questions just ask.

Cheers

Profile photo of GladstonePropertySolutionsGladstonePropertySolutions
    @gladstonepropertysolutions

Hi Tommo,

I work in Gladstone and live at Tannum Sands.

Gladstone, Tannum and Calliope are different property markets but feel most/all of the effects of the growth in Gladstone.

Calliope market initially grew due to locals moving out from Gladstone due to price, but also for more of a country feel and bigger blocks as Gladstone grew. Now Calliope is attracting investors as returns are great and prices are cheaper. Longer term if things dont go to plan, yes I would expect this market to tank. Also returns will pull back once supply of houses in Gladstone catches up which it will eventually, theres plenty of land available in Gladstone.