All Topics / Help Needed! / Investment portfolio before my own Home?? What are your thoughts??

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of indiraindira
    @indira

Hi all,

Im very new to all this but here goes…..

I have 25000 to put towards a home,  I'm thinking I get a home in Brisbane (Logan area) put renters in and put an extra 400 a week on top of what the tenants pay to reduce loan and gain more equity faster. So I can buy another. I have seen homes recently for 220-250k which is the price range id be looking at.

I live in Sydney, I pay 220 rent with my two brothers and save $400 a week, I also have 4 children 8mths to 7yrs. As we all know Sydney is waaayyyy to expensive to buy. My plan is to get a portfolio together then later use them to buy my own home in Sydney im 35. Is this a good way to go??

Ps; I lived in Brisbane for 1yr and only moved back Jan this year, I personally dont like living in Brisbane but properties are good to buy.

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

I hate to put a dampner on your idea but with $25K you will pushing to buy much as you will need 5% deposit and unless you buy new or not previously occupied the Stamp duty is going to erode much of your deposit together with the LMI.

Whilst you can still just about get 95% lvr based on a $300K purchase price 5% alone would be $15K.

Doesnt leave much for the rest.

Secondly wouldnt be paying the loan down but placing the funds onto an offset account linked to the loan.
    It saves you interest but doesnt contaminate the interest in case you decide you want to have back all of that overpayment for personal purposes such as a PPOR or other non deductible expense.

Cheers

Yours in Finance

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of lifestylezlifestylez
    Participant
    @lifestylez