All Topics / Commercial Property / Apartment Complex’s vs Single Homes Investing

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of TheCanadian604TheCanadian604
    @thecanadian604

Im a student enrolled in university atm and am wondering which approach is better: Buying an apartment complex and managing it OR buying a home and turning it into a duplex, additionally renovating it inside and out. I can renovate rooms in an apartment complex but this is far more demanding. I am aware that it is easier to manage 6 rooms in one place other than 6 rooms all over the place.  Thoughts? Thank you.

Profile photo of CHRISSYINBRISSIECHRISSYINBRISSIE
    Participant
    @chrissyinbrissie

I would think it would depend on a whole host of things. For example I bought an averange block of land in an average street, nothing out of the ordinary. The guy next door also bought the block for the same price as I, the blocks where the same size.
    I made $420K in two years after building, he made $80K in two years after building. That's difference between experience and no experience.

Building UNits/houses whatever will always reep more rewards than something already built UNLESS you are buying them in an extraordinary situation.

Profile photo of Kelvin MitchellKelvin Mitchell
    @kelvin-mitchell

I suggest that you buy an apartment complex and manage it, as long as you know how to deal with your tenants properly, you will go a long way. You can work directly as the manager of the apartment complex or you can work through a property management company.

Profile photo of Nigel KibelNigel Kibel
    Participant
    @nigel-kibel