All Topics / Overseas Deals / USA Landlord Experiences so far.

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 32 total)
  • Profile photo of wobblysquarewobblysquare
    Participant
    @wobblysquare

Could anyone who has been a USA landlord – for whatever duration please post their experiences so far – here
    – Wanting to get a feel for how things have gone. Things that are different. Cash flow is what was expected . If not why not. Unexpected costs. Good experiences

How did you go about finding a property manager / tenants. How have they performed so far.

Cheers Wobbly

Profile photo of PortpiratePortpirate
    @portpirate

I would be interested in this too.

Profile photo of HighIncomePropertyHighIncomeProperty
    @highincomeproperty

Hi Wobbly,
    First of all, I need to point out that I do this for a living, so I've probably been able to spend a lot more time on it than the "average" investor ever would. Finding the right management takes time, but when it happens – it just makes your life so much easier.

A good management company assist us in finding tenants, collecting- and distributing rents, inspecting the property, as well as being on call pretty much 24/7 – they are also able to advise us on acquisitions, based on current rental demand.

It also takes a lot of time to find a company that's BOTH good with the tenants and also able to communicate with foreign investors – it's a huge difference for them too, dealing with local buyers vs. international buyers, as obviously the requirements are different.

It's a common (mis)conception (in my opinion) that the bigger firms are always better. In some cases, it will make sense to use a larger firm – but for personal attention and instant service, I find that I'm happier with smaller firms a lot of the time.