All Topics / Finance / Refinancing to Raise for DP

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of jon26jon26
    @jon26

Hi all,

Before I pop into my question, I’d like to say thank you all that have contributed to this treasure trove of a forum. I’m a newbie to property investing and would like your opinion/advice. This relates to me and my girlfriend; we’ve just bought a PPOR together about 6 months ago:
    PPOR: 365,000 (P/I Loan w/ Redraw)
    Owning: 275,000 (including 20% DP)

Reading through the forums, I now understand that we’ve made a ‘mistake’ in going for P/I instead of I/O Offset. We’re looking to get an IP and I believe that there are opportunities here to re-structure.

I’m thinking of a REFI to raise cash for DP on an IP and also to switch to an I/O offset. My question is, say for example our PPOR is valuated at 400,000 by end of this year, how much can I raise from the REFI bearing in mind avoiding LMI? Can a REFI be more than the valuated amount? Would it be a better option to be looking at HEL or HELOCs?

Thanks,
    Jon26.

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Jon

Welcome to the forum and I hope you enjoy your time with us.

Only look to switch your current loan to IO if you believe in the distant future you might rent the property out and then look to buy another PPOR. If this is never likely then P & I is not a crime.

In regards to going forward i am slightly confused by the wording of your post.

You say that you are owning $275,000.
    If you mean Own $365K – $275K i.e 90K then i cant see a problem.
    If you actually mean Owe $275K then you will more than likely incur LMI where the LVR is over 80%.

Might be a couple of ways to reduce or get around this but in the main it is a cost of doing business.

Good luck on taking the first step in the IP world and look forward to reading further posts.

Cheers

Yours in Finance

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender