All Topics / Overseas Deals / USD/AUD forecast

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 27 total)
  • Profile photo of jclimiejclimie
    @jclimie

Hi everyone,

I’m a novice when it comes to investing but like a lot of people here I’ve dipped my toes in the US property market. I’m pretty keen to keep going, but I have to admit i still have a few reservations.

My main concern right now is the outlook for the US economy. I’ve been reading whatever I can about it but I haven’t gained a lot of clarity or certainty yet. For one thing though, it doesn’t look like the USD is expected to bounce back any time soon.

I’m wondering what people think about investing in an economy that is in such a mess. It’s one thing if you’re planning to live in the USA long term, but I am not. I eventually want to bring my USD back to Australia. If the USD continues its decline then that will really chip away at any gains that I make. I have no problem riding it out if I know that things are going to improve, but will they improve? Or will a much weaker USD become the norm?

I know this is the billion dollar question. Nobody can predict what will happen. I just want to hear your thoughts and how you are rationalising throwing yourselves and your money into such a state of turmoil.

Thanks for your time. Happy investing.

Profile photo of Scott No MatesScott No Mates
    Participant
    @scott-no-mates

My 2 cents worth: Aud to hit $1.20 usd in the short term, $1.35+ longer term outlook. Australia is to become a bit of a safe haven due to mineral/resources wealth, stable government, strong banking system etc. US & Europe to continue their slide due to high debt levels being funded out of Asia & following Japan’s lead of a long term recession. So far Australia has avoided this outcome but it looms 10-20 years away.

Doom & gloom.

Profile photo of ALF1ALF1
    Participant
    @alf1
    Profile photo of kong71286kong71286
    Participant
    @kong71286

Rollover 1981… world economic collapse