All Topics / Help Needed! / Changing exisiting home to investment and buy a new primary home……

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Profile photo of madeinaustralia77madeinaustralia77
    @madeinaustralia77

Hello All,

Firstly, I am quite new to the property market and have a bit of a plan to tackle in the next 5 years. So any advice from you pros will be greatly appreciated!! =)

My partner and I live in a villa currently worth about 345k. We will be getting the kitchen/bathroom/laundry renovated and also the yard done over the next few years. The property is in a good area close to the city and in about 5 years time we will owe about 190k on it… and it will be worth well over 345k. Villas in the same area with a basic renovation are currently selling for around 400k. We are happy with this so far.

We also have investment property worth 200k in far north QLD and owe 194k on it…. I think it has been a bad purchase. The strata and rates are through the roof and I am out of pocket at least $160 a week and it hasn't budged in price in the last 2 years.  I know these things take time but it just seems an excessive amount to be short each week.    In 5 years we will owe 155k on it

So, what we want to do is: In 5 years, basic renovation on the IP, and fingers crossed the value has increased a little. And then we were thinking of selling it… Good idea??

We want our own house and were looking at spending around 550k. And, we will turn our current place into an investment.  With what equity we will have and the current IP to use, what would be the best way of going about it.

At that stage our combined income will be around 150k….

Thank you soo much in advance!!

Also…. can someone explain exactly how your payments are calculated when you use your own equity?? Eg if I use 100k of equity to buy a new place for 500k, what are my repayments likely to be?

Cheers

Steve….. confused in the property world! =)

Profile photo of madeinaustralia77madeinaustralia77