Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Profile photo of Jake HJake H
    @jake-h

Hi I’m 20 years old and live in nsw and I’m currently studying my builders licence (already tradesmen carpenter).
    I have 30k saved up in cash and I’m looking to get into the property investment game. Not property trading. I plan to buy a few houses over long term using equity of the previous. I was just looking for some advice? Has anyone been in my situation? There’s so many options but I’d like to tage advantage of the first home owners grant if I could. Any advice or hints would be greatly appreciated.

Profile photo of xdrewxdrew
    Participant
    @xdrew

Who says the property investment game and the building development game are separate?

First, to get any building development going you are going to be chasing the banks (or finance brokers) for money. They will want to see a reasonable asset base to lend against.

Second .. a lot of developers build their properties … sell what they need to, and keep the rest as investments .. for their next borrowing schedule to lend against. Equity appreciation happens .. and they decide they'd like to build again .. off they go !

The sheer fact you have the carpentry skills in hand works good .. as you dont have to hire a tradesman to do that. If you need to get secondary skills, get a plumbing license too. Dont worry about electrics, leave that to an expert. From having placed my pinkies into an open wall socket, I can tell you the experience is hair raising. For painting, you can either grab half a dozen painting books and learn how to do things, or chase up a decent painter. All these skills and trades you'll need at one time for doing the jobs. And each one of these is a cost that can either be incorporated .. or eliminated when developing. And developing is all about minimising costs to produce a product that is saleable at a profit.