All Topics / Help Needed! / Option? Purchasing neighbouring land

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of IntrigueIntrigue
    @intrigue

Hello,

My PPOR is on a 5 acre property approx 15k from the main township. The zoning is Rural however the area is considered Rural Residential. In my street there are 5 properties all about 5 acres but there is also a couple of large farms that surround our street.

I am at the end of the street and my neighbouring property is 100acres of scrub vegitation.

I have 3 horses and find that my 5 acres is just not enough to sustain them through our dry season. My neighbour is an elderly gentleman (doesnt live on the property, no home there). He is a wealthy fellow who was given alot of land post war (as were most of the land owners in my area). He has very kindly allowed me to fence off part of his land to run my horses. I have been doing this for a few years now.

I have had coffee with this rather educated old man and his intent for the property is to sell it to a developer for the sum of $3.5m. Although this is well above current market value for such land and I cant see a developer paying that in the near future (the land is very hilly and rocky so would be expensive to develop, there are easier options for now, however in future he just may get it).

Now I dont have $3.5m. In fact I have very little but I would really like to able to purchase a section of his land in future. Say 10 acres, that joins mine. Even if he was agreeable I could not purchase this now as I cannot afford to make repayments on a property that earns me nothing.

I was wondering what people's thought might be on how to get first option on this or rather a section of this property.

If you were in this situation would you approach him with an option offer? A contract with super extented settlement?

Or just sit tight and hope another 10yrs passes before you are forced to purchase the land that you currently use for free!