All Topics / Help Needed! / Should we sell to free up $$$ to re-invest

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of boshieboshie
    Participant
    @boshie

Hi all,

We desperately need some financial / property investment advice please.   I'm totally new to this and dont even know where to start researching.

Our current situation is $550k mortgage.  Current home worth $850k+ in Sydney.   No cash in bank (we literally live week to week).  Builder husband is self employed sole trader who's last 2 tax returns show a taxable income of $50k-$55k.  Me – stay at home mum with 3 young kids.  We have 2 exchange students living with us who provide an additional $550pw – which basically gets us through. 

We want to start investing in property but our finance broker has told us that the banks will not touch us.  This is not what we want to hear and we want to buy a $300k property in a great beachside suburb in Melb, subdivide, build 2 townhouses, sell and move onto next project.

It seems that the only way we can do this is to sell our house in Sydney (which I really dont mind doing as it was only a project for us anyway and we've renovated it to make profit) so we can free up some money and hopefully walk away with $250k-$300k.   Will this make us more favourable with the banks?

We would prefer to stay in Sydney and rent as our business is here whilst we subdivide in Melb and use a project home builder to put up the townhouses – as this would be much cheaper than hubbie taking time off work to build.  So he can continue with his business here and continue earning a wage.

We are looking around Frankston/Mornington.  Does anyone know what subdivision costs would be and timeframe before we could start on the actual building of the townhouses?