All Topics / Help Needed! / Im stuck and need some inspiration

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of mark76gmark76g
    Participant
    @mark76g

I quit my hated office job 4 years ago with the goal of making a fortune in property.
    I have a small home business on the internet which barley covers my living costs.
    Ive done quite a few successful small deals over the last few years but now ive hit a dead end.

I purchased a run down house on a big double block with the goal of renovating the house and
    subdividing.

Unfortunately the renovation cost were higher than I thought and I ended up using up all the money I had in the bank.
    I managed to finish it and get the house tenanted.

To proceed with the subdivision I need about $30k.
    Unfortunately for me I dont have any access to funds my friends and family are not risk takers and will not lend me
    any money despite me explaining just how little risk is involved.
    If I was a good salesman I could join the local golf club and talk somebody into being my business partner.
    Unfortunately im not.

I keep getting told oh well you’ll have to go back to work now and be realistic . This makes me mad with rage. It was this kind
    of talk that made me leave my hated office cubical job in the first place.
    In any case I used to work in IT and my skills have dated over the last four years. A lot of retrained and major bluffing would be need.

I have one other property. A unit in Brisbane. Selling it would free up about $50k. Ive had it on the market for a few months and theres no interest. The Brisbane unit market is dead as disco. I could try dropping the price but its hardly worth it as i put a lot of work into renovating the unit myself last year and its already cheaper than it should be. Plus it gets a much higher rent than average.

At the current rate nothing might happen for a year or two.