All Topics / Help Needed! / Investment Advice

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of lookinginvestlookinginvest
    @lookinginvest

Hello All,

I'm still new to the investing game. I read some months ago an article in the Australia Property Investor (API).

The article was about Natalie Cook the Olympic gold medalist and it specifically spoke about and I quote "So rather than living in a home that she owns, Natalie now rents her PPOR".

It goes on further to say and i quote "My new strategy is to never buy the house that I live in," she says.

So my question is how would one achieve this? Would it be through an investor setting up a property investing company / trust and having that buy the house and then rent it from the trust or company? I would expect that certain legal tax structures which would be seen by the ATO as being acceptable would have to be setup.

I understand that I would need to seek legal and accounting advice.

I welcome advice from all who are a lot more experienced in the investing game and thank you for your time.

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi there

Welcome to the forum.

Maybe she's simply renting (as opposed to owning) the home she lives in? I have a few investor clients that do this – they rent where they want to live while owning multiple investment properties in other areas.

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of PaulliePaullie
    @paullie

I don't think thats what shes doing.

What she is doing, is buying property, renting them out and renting out another property to live in, a property not her own.

Profile photo of WattoetteWattoette
    @wattoette

Correct me if I am wrong but I have heard you can rent your PPOR as a property investor and the rent can be a tax deduction !! Can this please be confirmed.