All Topics / Help Needed! / Recent uni graduate needs advice on property!!

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Profile photo of JayDee26JayDee26
    @jaydee26

Hello!

First a quick background overview about me, I am a recent university graduate and I live in Sydney (recently moved here from Victoria).

I'd like to purchase my own apartment that has the potential for high growth and hence will give me in future a good return on investment (via renting or sale) after I have the required 20% deposit set up and am currently scouting around for decent suburbs around Sydney. My budget is no more than $300,000. 

I spoke with the bank and they mentioned the maximum they can loan me is $300,000 however I have no interest in taking out the full loan. Perhaps take out only $250,000 and fund the remaining by myself to ease down the amount of monthly repayments I'll have to do. This will be coming around to about $1200-$1400 p/month. At this point I would like to mention I plan on doing fortnightly repayments and not monthly.

I've looked into a few places and have found fairly decent places (in my opinion) in Westmead, Wentworthville, Merrylands and North Parramatta. Prices ranging from $290,000 to $300,000 – well within my budget. Since this will be my first home I'll be eligible for the first home owners grant of $7000.

Now on to the questions:

1) After say, 2-3 years it's my wish to scout for some other apartment and rent out the one I would have stayed in. What are some good and safe suburbs for this in Sydney?

2) What are the bad and no-go suburbs in Sydney to stay away from in terms of investing? I've read up on how bad Blacktown, Redfern, Auburn and Kings Cross are.