All Topics / Help Needed! / Flood effect in properties in Queensland

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of mpbajarmpbajar
    @mpbajar

Hi,

I am a newbie in the property investing game- currently looking for a first investment. I would just like an educated opinion on the effect of the floodings in Queensland. I am looking at some spots in the mining hotspots, but now am having serious second thoughts.

What does the floodings mean? If the suburb that I was interested in was included- should I stop there and look at other suburbs?
    Does it mean that the value will drastically drop in the next few years, or not rise at all?

Thanks.

Profile photo of PLANT-EMPLANT-EM
    @plant-em

Flooding does concern me but in turn there are people in my neighboring town that deal with flood every 3-8 years, There will recede (1in 50years), you might be able to buy at reduced and never see it flood in the next 20 years but it could happen again next year, reserch town history for floods and make and educated decision.

Hope this is of some use.

mattnz
    Participant
    @mattnz

Insurance in areas which have just flooded is likely to be difficult to get, if not impossible. After all, which insurance company would knowingly issue a new insurance policy on a property which is likely to have 10s of 1000s of damage again in the next decade.

If you are looking at getting the upside of the mining boom, with minimal risk and has survived the flooding very well, Gladstone is definitely worth a look. I already have an IP there.

Profile photo of mpbajarmpbajar
    @mpbajar

Thanks for the inputs PLANT-EM and mattnz. Very much appreciated.

We heard back from a contact in the area and the news coverage is not as bad as the actual situation.

I will have a look at Gladstone. :)

mattnz
    Participant
    @mattnz

Surprising to hear that the news coverage is actually less dramatic than the reality, its normally the other way around.