All Topics / General Property / House Vs Unit

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of mav86mav86
    @mav86

Hi All,

I am fairly new to investing in property and am unable to decide as to what would be a better investment decision over the next 5-10 years.

1) Buy a 3 bed home further out of the CBD. 25 km from melb cbd (Craigieburn)
    or
    2) Buy a 2 bed unit within 15 km from melb cbd.(Bundoora or Epping) 

I am aware generally speaking houses do outperform units due to the greater land component. However in craigieburn there is a lot of supply of land as it is a new estate. In Bundoora and Epping you cannot buy blocks of land to build anymore and it is closer to cbd.

Given the above, is the trade off for less land in a better location a good decision? Or am I better off going for a house with more land in an area which I know is growing due to a lot of first home buyer purchasing?

Any help or insights on the above would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Mav

Profile photo of fWordfWord
    Participant
    @fword

Good day,

Welcome to the forums. Unfortunately I don't know either of these areas well, but I thought to give it a crack and offer two cents worth in case it is helpful to you. I'm assuming you are going to solely rent the place out rather than live in it (or plan to live in it at some stage).

Logic says to go for land since they're not making any more of it. However you're right in saying that there's still much land in supply at Craigieburn. The other thing to consider of course is location and proximity to amenities, and other suburbs that are either popular, doing well, or attract the kind of owner-occupiers (or tenants) that you prefer to deal with. Is the price the same for both areas and do they rent for the same amounts or otherwise similar yield?