All Topics / General Property / What is the best way to utilise my Investment Property to buy another property

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of nicole10nicole10
    @nicole10

Last year I bought an investment property with my sister.

We are currently living in it (for 6 months) as we utilised the FHOG.

We anticipate to get new tennants in the property early next year. (we also had a depreciation scedule set up for taxation purposes

Once that occurs i would like to figure out my option to utilise the equity in the property to help me buy either another investment or a home to live in.

The property was bought in June Last year for 340k and there is 248k remaining on the mortgage.  (the loan we set up was a 3 year variable economiser loan).

Although I have not had the property valued as yet, I am sure the value of the house has gone up in value

As I am just new to this business of property investing, I would like to learn more about what are the best options to obtain another property and is it neccassary to change my current IP loan structure to maximise my ability to get another property.

Thanks

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

Look at what a line of credit can do. Do a search on this forum on LOC or line of credit for numerous postings on the subject and then go and ask your lender if they have such a facility and what costs are involved..

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Nicole

Welcome to the forum.

If this property is going to turn into an investment property in the future, you should convert the loan to 'interest only' with an offset attached. If the loan is with CBA (you mentioned economiser) it will cost $300 to switch to 'interest only' and their offset (the MISA) will be free to set up. Note – the MISA is a bit of a pain in the bum when it comes to offset accounts (it's….well….differen't). If you do a search on MISA you'll see other comments.