All Topics / Finance / First time potential buyer

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of deakin__2009deakin__2009
    @deakin__2009

Hi all,

Just after a little guidance/support as a first time potential buyer.

Basically the background is as follows:

I am in my first year working after graduating uni, having worked since march 2010 i have saved bloody hard and now have around $40,000 in savings. Additionally I will be eligible (i assume) for the first home owners grant – $7,000. so essentially I have $47,000 in savings ready to go.

I have no oustanding debts.

I am in victoria

Income is 57k incl super and before tax

I have found a great unit which judging my other units on the property i anticipate to sell for around $445,000.

So my first question – will I be able to get finance approved given my savings/work history?

Although this property will initially be a PPOR, I will probably be looking to convert it to an investment property at some stage (as early as 3-6 months after i tick off CGT requirements) so i was looking at an interest only loan with 100% – would this be the path others would recommend?

Thirdly, is it possible to combine the above loan type with a combination of interest types (sorry, probably not technical the correct term, but by loan types i mean fixed / variable) as i was thinking something like the following:

10% variable
    30% fixed for 1 year
    30% fixed for 2 years
    30% fixed for 3 years

Am i being to naive?

Finally, I am most likely going to have someone live with me paying rent, now does this open up potential scope to claim at least a proportion of interest/depreciation/r+m etc?

Thanks guys

appreciate your help

Profile photo of Dan42Dan42
    @dan42