All Topics / Help Needed! / How much deposit would you recommend?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of Mike SmithMike Smith
    Participant
    @mike-smith

Hey guys,

I am only new to property investing and will be looking to purchase my first IP in the next 12-18 months.

I have a question about deposits though – is it better to get into the IP game as early as possible? Or should I be looking to have at least 20% deposit so that I don't lose money through having to pay for LMI and paying more interest?

Currently in the process of building my PPOR, so I'm not sure if (potentially) having equity makes a difference to the situation.

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Profile photo of PaulliePaullie
    @paullie

Having equity in your PPoR definitely make a difference because you can use that equity as the deposit for your IP.

Profile photo of Ben KBen K
    Participant
    @ben-k

In my opinion,

Being on the ladder is what matters. if you have LMI to pay, depending on your strategy with that particular property you may not notice it long term eg: if you planned on holding the place for 10 years and LMI was 9 grand it isnt much in the scheme of things. i guess it just depends on how good that deal really is to your situation. I personally would cop LMI to get a good deal across the line if the numbers still worked.

Ben

Profile photo of JT7JT7
    @jt7
    Ben Kelleher wrote:
    In my opinion,

Being on the ladder is what matters. if you have LMI to pay, depending on your strategy with that particular property you may not notice it long term eg: if you planned on holding the place for 10 years and LMI was 9 grand it isnt much in the scheme of things. i guess it just depends on how good that deal really is to your situation. I personally would cop LMI to get a good deal across the line if the numbers still worked.

Ben

Hi Mike,

I think Ben makes a valid point.