All Topics / Help Needed! / victorian regional hotspots and land onsell

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of penti99penti99
    @penti99

hi guys

I am a newbie here ..

with my situation ( as the budget is tight ) .. I have shortlisted the things I can do ( without loosing my ppor)

this is what I  am looking for

positive gearing IP ( even neutral gearing would do great – one's who can pay off mortgage and for rates and repairs would do good )…

budget of 200 k

did some research – found these areas promising …

traralgon , horsham , mildura , geelong , ballarat , bendigo …

among these mildura and horsham seems to be within my reach ….

geelong is off my limits …

my limits

if the IP is vacant for 2 months – i can manage

if its vacant for 4 months – i will start worrying …

so I am guessing that I need to look for blue chip areas ( close to city centres ) to get the kind of rent I am expecting …

looked up some properties in mildura – noted a wide difference .. I mean there are 3 bedders for 196 and some one's for 250 as well … ( couldnt see why this is … may be good and bad areas )

and noted there are few which have been rented …. 

as you know banks see it in a different way when they are already rented ( am I right…. )

i did some figures and have seen that once the property value crosses over 160 — with the average rent of 200 — it needs some negative gearing

i can negative gear if necessary ( < 200/month ) …

so i need advise on

has any one invested on positive gear or neutral gear properties in the above mentioned areas

can you suggest any other areas

what are your experiences and suggestions

is there an online calculator that I can use to do my sums with IP's

at the end  of day

planning to buy 2 IP's

not expecting a huge capital appreciation … slow and stead would be fine

and after 5 years able to pay off my ppor

2) hot spots for land in victoria