All Topics / Heads Up! / Questions…hope somebody can help, I’m very new to this!

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of Sharon ForrestSharon Forrest
    @sharon-forrest

Having just recently decided to look into purchasing an investment property, I've put my feelers out and come across some info on 'Defence Service Housing' where they pay for all the maintenance and guarrantee tenants for a certain period, has anybody out there had any experience with these contracts?  Also does anybody know if going through "myportfolio' is a good or bad idea?  Thanks

Profile photo of CatalystCatalyst
    Participant
    @catalyst

I only know a little bit. The thing is if you decide to sell you limit your purchasers to investors as there is usually a long lease (10yrs + option to extend sometimes). Rents increase with CPI but any I jhave looked at have been under market rent after a few years. So your sale price is lower to compensate for this. Check what fees they charge to manage it. One I looked at was 16%.

Other than that I can't help. Sorry.

Don't know My portfolio. More info please.

Profile photo of Matt_ArnoldMatt_Arnold
    Participant
    @matt_arnold

Hi Sharon

I looked into the Defense Housing a few years ago…

As Catylist said the negatives are that they generally have a very high % charge for property management, which amongst other costs makes your property heavily negatively geared in the beginning.

On the positives, they do things like fresh paint, new carpet etc for no charge at the end of the contract term.

My overall thoughts are that if you are very risk adverse, and like the idea of a garanteed rent / property condition etc then Defense Housing would work for you.

If you are happy to deal with the occasional dodgy tennant, and take care of some basic repairs / property maintance yourself you can achieve much better investment returns elsewhere.

Matt

Profile photo of Sharon ForrestSharon Forrest
    @sharon-forrest