All Topics / Help Needed! / Once you find a property, what checks do you do?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of Lora4486Lora4486
    @lora4486

Hi,

As I’m new to investing in property I was wondering what is it that you do once you’ve found a property as in what checks do you do to make sure its a good investment?

So far, I’ve been searching in the area, and finding a property, comparing it to others similar in the area, asking the agents about the rates etc, buying the property reports from APM and then thats about it…

What is it that you do? Also would you say the reports from APM are reliable? I have heard of Residex as well but haven’t used this yet, which one is more reliable?

Any feedback much appreciated

TIA

Profile photo of MITMIT
    Participant
    @millionaire-in-training

Hi Tia

That is a big question tha could hae me wrting here for hours!!.wil attempt to keep it brief

Questions
    1. What do you intend to do wih his property, buy and hold,reno, development?
    2. What specifically are you attempting to achieve with proprty investing generally?, i encourage you to get REALLY clear on this.
    3. What specifically o you expect to gain from this property in terms of Cash on Cash return/ROI/$ profit?.
    4. How long do you expect it to take to make the profit/result you are seeking from this property?
    5. What risks are you facing in prurchasing this property and how d you plan to mitigate those risks to a level acceptable to you?
    6. What strategiesdo you curretly have experience with in relation to property investing..buy and hold, positive cashflow/negative gearing, developing, renos, student accomodation etc.
    7. Are you intending to buy houses or units?, remember the value in property investing is in the land content, land goes up in value building go down in value, less land and there is higher probability of the value increasing at a slower rate.