All Topics / Help Needed! / Where to start?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of johnycitizenjohnycitizen
    @johnycitizen

Hi guys,
    I'm a newbie at property investing but very keen to learn to get a portfolio underway. I'm looking at a property in my local area. Its in a pretty good location and should sell for around $310000. It is currently paying close to $300 in rent per week. The property is a 1800m2 with 2 street frontages (front and rear). I'm thinking that a subdivision with a new duplex building on the back lot would be a good idea. Street frontage is 23m wide. Looking on a design site quickly, i saw that building a duplex was going to cost from $350000 upwards. What do you think? What costs should i expect to experience. Any other suggestions

Thanks for your time, look forward to some advise.

Luke

Profile photo of MosicLandscapesMosicLandscapes
    @mosiclandscapes

Hi Luke,

Council fees really surprised me first time round. If you are splitting the title budget around $20,000 in council fees (depending on many different things) and lots of time so more holding costs. Have you made sure the zoning is consistent with your plans? You can check out the property you want to purchase here: http://services.land.vic.gov.au/landchannel/jsp/reports/ReportsIntro.jsp

This is an awesome site which shows any zoning laws or overlays that could affect your property.

Selling and conveyancing fees are also something that can be overlooked. GST can be a killer as well. I would do some serious number crunching and then think about getting a feasibility study done (costs about $500).

Good luck and keep us posted!

Profile photo of Jacqui MiddletonJacqui Middleton
    Participant
    @jacm