All Topics / Help Needed! / Do i need a deposit?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of redleggerredlegger
    @redlegger

HI everyone,
    A noob here :) in property and this forum so be gentle :)

Im after advice on what you think i should do… My situation is as follows.

I have a promotion which requires me to relocate to another city, I have a mortgage on my property, It is worth approx $320,000 and i owe approx $240,00

We would like to keep our current home and use it as a rental ,

We want to buy a new home for approx $475,000

I have read up a little on equity and i am a bit confused. I think i have approx $80K in equity correct?

My Questions are:
    1. Can i use this 80K as a deposit for the $475K new home that we wish to purchase?
    2. Should i roll into one loan or two?

Thanks in advance

Profile photo of cmasoncmason
    Participant
    @cmason

To avoid Lenders Mortgage Insurance(LMI) a state which the Lender is happier releasing equity you need to be at or below 80% Loan to Value Ratio(LVR). Currently if your property is estimated to be worth $320K and you owe $240K then your LVR is 75% meaning you could comfortably use around $16K of your equity without going over the 80% and incurring LMI. Some Lenders might go higher than 80% to 85% or 90% but the loan process would be more lengthy and stringent and you would be up for LMI

Profile photo of LHLH
    Participant
    @lh

You won't be able to release the full 80% as the bank will only lend up to a certain Loan to Value Ratio (LVR) against the value.

Based on a 90% LVR loan for the $320K property ($288K) would free up $48K in equity and LMI would be in the range of $3,000 – $4,000 (less if you paid LMI initially and stayed with the same lender).

With that $48K equity you could get your $475K new home but would need to be a 95% LVR deal that would be in the vicinity of $15,000.