All Topics / Help Needed! / Cross Collateralisation – IP Loan

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of newday7newday7
    @newday7

Hey all,

I'm new here and this is my first post. I have been reading through various posts to learn more from you all on investing in property. I have a question regarding setting up an investment loan.

I am in the middle of organising a loan with the bank for the first IP I'm purchasing (Vic.). Actually, the loan is already approved, ready and waiting for settlement day in 4 weeks time. As I am new to this whole IP area, I ignorantly agreed to accept the investment loan structure where my PPOR is used as collateral. This is my situation :

The equity on my PPOR is $400,000, with $20,000 owing.
    Puchase price for IP is $290,000
    Investment loan 80%, 20% PPOR equity.

After reading thru' the posts here, I'm not sure if I've done the right thing. I now think I should go with a LOC on PPOR 20% and 80% Investment loan, which will remove my PPOR from the being a collateral for the IP.

I spoke at length with my bank to change the set up of the loan, and to use LOC instead before settlement date. For 45 mins she went through the reasons why I shouldn't do it as it will make the loan very messy, complicated, extra loans to look after and will make it difficult to calculate the deductible interest. On top of that, I should not be concern about having the PPOR title on the investment loan. At first she even went to the extent to tell me that I needed to have cash upfront to pay for the 20%, and the PPOR equity does not come into the picture if I did not want the PPOR title on the loan.

In the end, she agreed to make the changes if I wish to but told me to bear in mind that none of her customers have ever requested this kind of set up that I'm seeking. Is this true? Am I understanding all these in a wrong way? BTW, the bank is one of the big 4!