All Topics / Help Needed! / do real estate agents have to pass on all offers?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of jksgohjksgoh
    @jksgoh

Hi,
    I’m new to property and am considering buying a house. I have found a suitable house, but am a bit confused on making offers before an auction. Do real estate agents have to pass on every offer??? I have heard that the vendor can make a threshold, and if the offer is below this offer the real estate agent does not pass on the offer, is this true? i have read conflicting things about this. Currently, the real estate agent dealing with the property i am interested in has said the vendors are not considering offers under X amount.

cheers

Profile photo of Nigel KibelNigel Kibel
    Participant
    @nigel-kibel

If you make an offer you need to get it in writing. Insist on signing a contact. If you do this they have to put up the offer. They do not have to put up a verbal offer. In my view it is only an offer if it is in writing.

Nigel Kibel | Property Know How
    http://propertyknowhow.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

We have just launched a new website join our membership today

Profile photo of Matt_ArnoldMatt_Arnold
    Participant
    @matt_arnold
    jksgoh wrote:
    I have heard that the vendor can make a threshold, and if the offer is below this offer the real estate agent does not pass on the offer, is this true? i have read conflicting things about this. Currently, the real estate agent dealing with the property i am interested in has said the vendors are not considering offers under X amount.

In NSW (not sure about other states), the real estate agent in question is required to pass on all offers either verbal or written unless the vendor has made a specific request (best practice is for the agent to have it in writing from the vendor) not to recieve any offers under X amount.

Profile photo of jksgohjksgoh
    @jksgoh

thanks for the prompt replies guys.