All Topics / Help Needed! / Turning current Residence into Investment property

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of Megsy35Megsy35
    @megsy35

Hi,
    I’m new to all of this and would like an opinion on our current situation.
    We live in the suburbs, have a small mortgage on our current residential property.
    We are looking at purchasing a country property, to live in, and to commute daily into the city for work.
    Do we take out a fresh mortgage on the new country property or use the equity in the current residence to pay for the new country property?
    Can we then negatively gear the suburban residence?
    How can we make the most out of this type of situation?
    Any suggestions and advice would be most appreciated.
    Megsy

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

Welcome to the forum Megsy35

Megsy35 wrote:
    Hi, I'm new to all of this and would like an opinion on our current situation. We live in the suburbs, have a small mortgage on our current residential property.
    Can we then negatively gear the suburban residence?

No !
    You stated you have a small mortgage against this property. If you rent out the property you most likely will earn more than the expenses incurred. So it will be positively geared.
    see
    https://www.propertyinvesting.com/forums/property-investing/help-needed/4332876?highlight=purpose%2Ctest
    https://www.propertyinvesting.com/forums/property-investing/help-needed/4332839?highlight=purpose%2Ctest
    https://www.propertyinvesting.com/forums/property-investing/help-needed/4332793?highlight=purpose%2Ctest
    https://www.propertyinvesting.com/forums/getting-technical/finance/4332366?highlight=purpose%2Ctest
    look for the term purpose test

Megsy35 wrote:
    We are looking at purchasing a country property, to live in, and to commute daily into the city for work. Do we take out a fresh mortgage on the new country property

It really depends on your goals.