All Topics / General Property / Property in Southbank, Melbourne

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of LeegohLeegoh
    @leegoh

Dear all,

I'm really new to this and have gotten rather lost recently…

I'm looking to buy a AU$350k 1 bedroom apartment in Southbank, Melbourne, off the plan, as my 1st investment project, and have received mixed comments on this decision.

What do you think of this? Do you think there is potential for steady rental income and maybe capital appreciation?

Thank you in advance!

Profile photo of basbogbasbog
    Participant
    @basbog

Hi

Have you done your figures on what the property will cost you out of your pocket a week to hold, with strata etc

Had a quick look on RE.com and saw 2 others under 300k

If it is off the plan look at the storage areas etc, cupboards etc, if the tenant has a bike what do they do with it.

Melbourne has had a big capital increase, will it continue, when is completion etc

Barry

Profile photo of maree_bradrossmaree_bradross
    @maree_bradross

Just be careful that it is enough square metres to meet maximum bank loan criteria

Profile photo of MarJacMarJac
    @marjac

Also check the plans carefully and ensure that it is clear of what you are buying in respect to layout, fittings, floor coverings etc & size of rooms INCLUDING ceiling height etc.

There was a legal case sometime ago with a Southbank building where the ceiling height was reduced in order that an additional floor could be squeezed in !!

As already said do your homework and figures VERY carefully as the value of the property could reduce once completed (has also happened in Southbank/Docklands area) as you may then have trouble obtaing finance as lenders will take the lesser of either contract price or valuation (on completion). The reverse could also be true and a good capital increase can also happen