All Topics / Help Needed! / Studio and own Property before 24… Feasible?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of SFSF
    @sf

Dear All,

I am in need of some advice. As I’ve mentioned previously, I am a 20yr old university student looking to get into property investment as quickly as I can. Currently, I have money in a First Home Saver Account which unfortunately I will not have access to until mid 2013. This money will be used to fund worst case, my first property investment (live in 6 months then rent out) capitalising on the FHOG. My girlfriend and I will combine our accounts and have a minimum of 50k capital.

I graduate at the end of the year and will be looking to get a job as a recruitment consultant working on 45-50k base, plus commissions etc. Should all go to plan, I am hoping to entice my father to take out some equity on his PPOR (Purchase price 325k, current value approx 850) to buy a studio in Sydney for approx 250-300k max. It would be under his name, be rented out, I would just cover the difference in repayments. I also intend to repay him the full value of the deposit in the initial 2 yrs following purchase (i..e before my money becomes available). Is this feasible?

If I have already bought my own property (from my own savings), can the studio be transferred into my name once I have repaid him the full value of the deposit?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Regards.

Profile photo of allycatallycat
    Participant
    @allycat