All Topics / Help Needed! / HELP NEEDED WITH INVESTMENT PROPERTY

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of palmer01palmer01
    @palmer01

hi i am pretty new to the property market and i was applying the 1% rule to a property out at young (past bathurst) when the roi result i used showed that it was a 11% return. just asking if this would be ok as a first investment property? any help would be great. thanks chris

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

It is always good to work out the cash flow figures as well
    income = rent – prop manage fee – 9% interest on loan – council rates – water rates – insurance – $1000 for maintenance
    If you have a negative income figure then you can decide if you can afford the cash flow loss
    If it is a positive figure then you have less trouble affording it.

What you need to decide is what is your goal
    To own a positive cash flow property (is there a chance of capital growth)
    To pay down the loan as quick as possible

or
    To own a negative cash flow property (possibly get capital growth)

You may find $3000 to $4000 per year may be what it costs for the extra costs above the interest charge

I stated 9% interest rate as interest rates are on the rise (worse scenario)
    if you use an amortisation template in excel you can work out the repayments if p & I
    as you may wish to use repayment amount instead of interest charged.

Profile photo of palmer01palmer01
    @palmer01

yeh, the cost of the property is $100,000 and the rent is $220 per week,

roughly how much are all the costs each year on a regular property? (eg fees, bills, repairs etc)

thanks again

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

I would factor $1000 minimum for repairs as if something breaks like plumbing or hot water service it has to be fixed straight away.
    Council Rates approx $700 a year check with real estate agent they may have a copy of the Council rates.