All Topics / Finance / 2nd IP and can’t get finance!! WHYYYY!!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of Dan19Dan19
    Participant
    @dan19

Hey guys,

We are looking at getting our 2nd IP in Melbourne and currently having problems with finance. Both our PPOR and IP are under my dads name and we spoke to a broker working with RAMS, which is a part of WESPAC. He said our situation is tight but me and dad feel we can afford the monthly repayments at ease.

PPOR $200,000 owing and worth approx $650,000
    IP1 $600,000 owing, worth approx $750,000
    I'm currently studying full time and have been working casually at a company for 2 years, low income. Dads been an accountant at a hotel for roughly 10 years and has a secure income of approx $70,000.

There is no problem on the repayments of our IP as it is rented out to students per room and currently returning $5500 p/m, but its cash. The broker said our PPOR is linked with our IP for security reasons and that it would be hard to get another loan. Also, the broker said that our IP was bringing us down heavily because it is rented out privately with no contract or documents to prove, this is understandable but with the rent were getting, why would we want to rent the whole house to a family for 450-500p/w. We want to get another property around $500-000 – 600,000 hoping to do student accommodation as well.

I'm thinking of going to another broker or bank to check out our options, what do you guys think?
    Would it be any easier if we borrowed overseas money to pay off our PPOR then get a loan higher than the value of the house and pay them back? Is that do-able or would it make any difference? I asked the broker but he said best thing would be to put a 20% deposit with that money, but he didn't understand that I would need to pay our relatives back ASAP.

Any advice is appreciated, PLEASE HELP!!!

Cheers
    Dan

Profile photo of Dan42Dan42
    @dan42