All Topics / Help Needed! / Future Prospects

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of JamesFRGJamesFRG
    @jamesfrg

Hey guys,
    First of all – great site, support base and source of information and knowledge here!
    I've been reading the forums on and off since about the start of this year as an unregistered user and decided to post some Q's of my own, just to see if I am on the right track.

I'm a student in my 2nd year of a combined Law and Business degree. I major in Finance on the business side of things. 1 more year after this year until I complete my finance degree, then another 3 years of Law before I graduate completely.
    I am lucky enough to be living at home and very close to Uni. Thus, my annual expenses do not amount to much. I.e. Petrol, rego, insurance on the car, then whatever I spend on myself.

I'm also fortunate enough to have a great, stable day job AND a night shift job. I can afford to put away $250 p/week and still have enough cash to spend on myself and cover what little expenses I have.

Strangley, in finance, we haven't really discussed property investment at all. It's basically been stocks/evaluation of company's etc.

Anyway, I started uni early, and will be done when I'm 22. And, by then, I should have about $85,000 to lay down on some property.

My plan was to purchase something pretty close to the city (Hobart) with about 2 bedrooms or thereabouts for around $400,000. This all depends on what the prices will be like in another 3.5 years however.

I intended then, to rent the property out, and have it pay it's own mortage back whilst I chip in weekly to get the mortage out of the way asap.
    Then take out a mortgage for another property that I would soley pay off and live in whilst I have a job.