All Topics / Help Needed! / Do have a valid point ?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of JoshuaPeterJoshuaPeter
    @joshuapeter

Ok so im new to all this, i dont probably know what im talking about but hey you have to start somewhere.

my parents want me to invest in my first house/unit and rent it out.

i recently saw a printout in the newspaper of all the postcodes around adelaide which showed the average house price and the predicted agverage price in 5 & 10 yrs.

i have always dreamed of living in the hills, i noticed that the average house price in crafers/stirling was 600-700ish and is predicted to reach up to 2million in 10yrs.

now i have seen land in crafers for around the 350-370 mark.

so the idea that has come to my mind is maybe im better off buying the land to secure something in an area i want to live in because if i spend the next 10yrs investing in unit/house the profit made vs the increase in the crafers/stirling location may just not be enough to cover that increase and therefore put it out of my reach forever.

i dont earn alot of money but i want to be able to live in an area that im happy with.

hopefully this makes sense.

cheers.

Profile photo of fWordfWord
    Participant
    @fword

I see your point. Question is, if you borrow to buy land, there's no income whatsoever. Can you stomach the repayments on that loan over the next 10 years on the basis of numbers that you saw in the newspaper? If indeed the valuation is accurate then that would be awesome, but what if its not?

Also, if you buy an average $400-500K house today and another in a couple of years (and don't buy anymore for the remaining 8 years after that), you would probably have assets amounting to $2 million in 10 years time anyway, assuming the trend of doubling every 7.2 years continues. Plus you have income.

I've never bought land before, so hopefully others will have input on that.

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster