All Topics / Help Needed! / Newish to this – Am I over extending myself?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of binscabbinscab
    Participant
    @binscab

Hi everyone

This is my first time on here so I'll introduce myself first.

I'm 23 years old and work as an accountant averaging $45k a year.

About a year and a half ago my parents helped me with a deposit on my first property, a 3 bedroom townhouse.

In march, when the stock market crashed I had enough money saved up and borrowed some from relatives to trade shares with.

Long story short, I made enough to pay off a good chunk of the home, I currently still have $140,000.00 owing, we had purchased it for $370,000.00 so there is some equity there.

I'm really keen as to buy my next property but am not sure if I'm rushing into things or over extending myself… I would really appreciate what the experienced people on this forum have to say.

I've found a property costing $475,000.00 (that's including stamp duting etc), it is a house with 3 bedrooms + a granny flat at the back with another 3 bedrooms in a bit of a poor condition, so it is only being rented out for $510 at the moment. I quite like this oppurtunity! It is 900 square meters so in the future it has potential to be subdivided.

Now shares is more in my comfort zone and currently trade with $65,000.00 borrowed from the bank via a line of credit.

A family member wants to go into this property with me 50/50, after doing stringent budgets I only have little less than $100 from my paycheck left over per week to spend on miscellaneous.

I am not including any of my share income, all this income is used to offset the mortgage and is not consistent enough to put into a budget.

I've also started renting a room out at my place.

Ultimately – I want to make this new property positive cashflow,

I guess my question is, am I going about this the wrong way? i.e. relying on my share trading to pay off the mortgage.