All Topics / Creative Investing / Property options, What the hell am I missing?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Profile photo of BoogzBoogz
    Participant
    @boogz

Hi all,

Firstly, I will state that I am a Noob or whatever the equivilant Property investing term is. I believe in the sharemarket they call us Pigs.

I recently came across a stratergy using options by a guy named Mark Rolton (I can here your hissing & booing now, Seems he's none too popular from what I've read on the net)
    Alot of people have been saying that these options he speaks of are Dangerous, & damn near impossible to pull off. Admittedly I've only heard him speak of them on a recorded phonecall & in a 9 page Ebook that was pretty much a transcript of the call, but my understanding of them was that they were pretty much straight forward, Solong as you performed your due dilligence.

1) Locate property of Interest (He suggested RPData, but any way to find a property would work)
    2) Make them an offer over their asking price in exchange for Option to buy in X months time
    3) Hit up council regarding current & forseeable zoning classifications
    4) Get surveyors out to assess subdivision possibilities
    5) Find developer who wants to subdivide & develop
    6) Sell for tidy profit

If things don't work out, you can walk away having only lost your initial option fee, & being under no obligation to ever actually buy the property.
    I knew it'd be harder than what he makes it out to be, but if this is the correct proceedure, It's not Rocket Science!

Can someone perhaps tell me where I've messed up, & give me the correct proceedure as I think I have found a few good development areas In growing parts of Perth.

Oh, and feel free to laugh at & abuse me if I am way off, It's the only way I'll learn

Thanx Property peoples
    Boogz

Profile photo of Matt007Matt007
    @matt007

Hi boogz