All Topics / Help Needed! / How should I buy an investment property?

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Profile photo of Thomas LeeThomas Lee
    @thomas-lee

Hello everyone

I am a 17 year old student and I will have access to around $22,000 by the beginning of next year. I want to purchase an investment property with this money, but I know close to nothing about purchasing a house. I live in the western suburbs of Melbourne and the minimum price for a house here is around $240,000. With the current interest rates, the monthly repayment would be around $1400.

How should I approach this? Any advice would be great.

Thanks in advance.

Profile photo of bricmanbricman
    Participant
    @bricman

Hi there

First take a look at the post Answers to "Where to Find CF+ Deals" by adam i think it is, he has posted some very good tips for finding property.

Good starting point grab an edition of Australian Property Magazine and in the back they list all the terminology that you need to know, i.e. cash flow positive, rental yield etc, good place to familiarize yourself with the terms used in property investing.

Look at your budget, how much can i afford to borrow but more importantly how much can i afford to repay.
    Its a bit of hard question to nail down, but start off with the API magazine and keep immersing yourself in the subject and keep asking questions on the forum.

But ultimately it comes down to the numbers and what you can and cannot afford.

Hope this helps, keep me posted.

All the best

Ian

Profile photo of Jacqui MiddletonJacqui Middleton
    Participant
    @jacm

Hi Thomas