All Topics / Finance / How much can I borrow?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of pashabulker1pashabulker1
    @pashabulker1

Hey everyone!

My question, as you probably already know is: how much can I borrow?

I’m looking at purchasing my first property which will be an investment property as I am still living with the parentals.

I am currently a second year electrical apprentice earning $764.00 per/fortnight!!!!!!!!! (Not a lot I know)

However my parents are willing/able to gift me $100,000.00 as a deposit + act as a guarantor.

My expenses are next to nothing $250 per/fortnight.

I would LIKE to think I could be looking at houses in Adelaide for $300k – $350k.

Is this realistic? I’m thinking with a sizable deposit + the guarantor, I’m hoping they will take me seriously!

Your thoughts would be appreciated!
    Cheers

Profile photo of sam2011sam2011
    @sam2011

regardless of whether or not they give you a loan i think you are looking at a high price guide.  If you were to purchase a $350k place use the 100k deposit and get $300 a week for rent you would have to put in $100 out of your pocket + other expenses such as council, water, insurance which is lets say another $100 a fortnight, doesnt sound like much but reconsider if interest rates go up by 1% or 2%.
    i made the mistake when i bought my first property and struggled for 4 years, until things got to normal.  I would recommend looking at a cheaper place, building equity and having a look at another place in a couple of years

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster
    pashabulker1 wrote:
    Hey everyone! My question, as you probably already know is: how much can I borrow? I'm looking at purchasing my first property which will be an investment property as I am still living with the parentals. I am currently a second year electrical apprentice earning $764.00 per/fortnight!!!!!!!!!