All Topics / Commercial Property / Freehold commercial Investing

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of carpe_diemcarpe_diem
    Participant
    @carpe_diem

Hi
    I have a chance to buy a freehold commercial property.  I have been a residential property investor for many years and have done very well.  This is my first attempt to go commercial.  I can get this property of a number of shops in the main street of a country but growing town.  The price is over $1m and the lease return is about 7.5% which seems to me to be good as I can borrow the lot for under 6% (using my home for security or 7% using the freehold property).    The shops are all in good condition and the leases are 5×5.  The leases terms increase the rent by 2.5% each year.  Am I missing something important in proceeding with this or does it look a good thing to do?  

Is it an unsafe way to go or is it better to stick to residential properties which have done me well?

Cheers
    Carpe 

Profile photo of Scott No MatesScott No Mates
    Participant
    @scott-no-mates

There are many things to consider when entering a commercial deal, least of all is the rent.

You will need to undertake complete due diligence on the site, including have a qualified person look at things like any airconditioning systems, lifts, essential services compliance etc.

You will also need to review each lease as there may be subtle differences between each one.

Is the return nett or gross?

Rent reviews at 2.5% are below CPI, you will need to make a call whether you are prepared to accept such a low rate of review when CPI is projected to run above the long term average of around 3%.

Profile photo of carpe_diemcarpe_diem
    Participant
    @carpe_diem